Howard Skempton – The Cloths of Heaven

Howard Skempton - The Cloths of Heaven

Choral Music and Songs

The Exon Singers; Matthew Owens conductor
Delphian Records  DCD34056 (2008)

“a wonderfully nuanced performance from the Exon Singers and Matthew Owens” – Gramophone, Critic’s Choice of the Year

“The Exons are at their most exciting in exalted mode – the Sanctus from the Missa Brevis is thrilling” – BBC Music Magazine

Best known as a composer of exquisitely quirky miniatures for accordion or piano solo, Howard Skempton has in recent years developed an equally strong affinity for the choral medium. The Exon Singers’ programme includes a new Missa brevis composed especially for this recording, alongside songs and shorter choral pieces constituting a broad survey of Skempton’s output over the past twenty-five years.


Track listing:

  • 1. Upon my lap my sovereign sits
  • 2. O Saviour of the World
  • 3. Locus iste
  • 4. The Song of Songs
  • 5. O Life!
  • 6. Nature’s fire for organ
  • 7. Adam lay y-bounden Magnificat & Nunc dimittis (Edinburgh Service)
  • 8. Magnificat
  • 9. Nunc dimittis
  • 10-13. Lamentations
  • 14. Beati quorum via
  • 15-18. Emerson Songs
  • 19. He wishes for the Cloths of Heaven
  • 20. Ave Virgo sanctissima
  • 21-25. Missa brevis
  • 26. Ostende nobis Domine
  • 27. Recessional for organ

Click here to download the PDF of published reviews of this disc.